Health & Social Care

Welcome to the Health and Social Care Department!

The health and social care sector is a major employer, employing almost four million people across the UK. In healthcare, this includes jobs such as doctors, pharmacists, nurses, midwives, healthcare assistants and administrators, while social care roles include care assistants, social workers, occupational therapists and counsellors. Demand for both health and social care is likely to continue to rise, so it is sure to continue to play a key role in UK society, and the demand for people to fill these vital jobs will increase.

BTEC Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care (KS4)

This course gives you the opportunity to study how people grow and develop over the course of their lives, from infancy to old age, and the factors that may affect this, such as major life changing events like marriage or parenthood. You will learn how people adapt to these changes as well as the types of support available to help them.

You will also learn about the different health and social care services, and about ‘care values’ and their importance in making sure that the people who use these services get the care they need. You will be able to demonstrate these care values practically. You will develop skills in interpreting data about someone’s state of health in order to design a plan that will allow them to improve their health and wellbeing.

There are 3 Components which make up the qualification. Students are required to complete and achieve all three components to attain the qualification.

  • Component 1: Human Lifespan Development (Assignment)
  • Component 2: Health and Social Care Services and Values (Assignment)
  • Component 3: Health and Wellbeing (2 hour Exam)

BTEC Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care (KS5)

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care is equivalent in size to one A Level.  It is made up of 4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 1 is optional; 2 are external exams and 2 are assignments. The units cover a broad basis of study for the health and social care sector. This qualification is designed to support progression to higher education when taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTEC Nationals or A Levels.

The content of the qualification incorporates topics relevant across the health and social care sector:

  • Human Lifespan Development (Exam)
  • Working in Health and Social Care (Exam)
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (Coursework)
  • Psychological Perspectives (Coursework)

 Further information about this qualification can also be accessed at: